Category Archives: Tournament/League Results

GH Waring Quaddie – 2023

Another beautiful couple of days towards the end of our bowling season.  Thank you to Steve and Jill Foster and all the wonderful GH volunteers who made the tournament a great success!!


Ron McRea, Angela Tessaro, Al Thomson, Svend Klausen (Captain)

2nd Place

Li Juang, Floyd Ruttan (Captain), Donna Adamowicz, Dolores Morin

3rd Place

KIyoshi Sekiguchi (Captain), Joy Smith, Jen Purkis, Jill Foster

Norm Story Skills Tournament – 2023

Floyd and his helpers organized this fun afternoon for our members.  Beautiful weather – a full green with enthusiastic bowlers and wonderful treats from Gloria and the kitchen volunteers.


Jay Huang with Floyd Ruttan

2nd Place – Tie

Kiyoshi Sekiguchi, Sue Skillen with Floyd Ruttan

3rd Place

Vic Chance with Floyd Ruttan





BSI Women’s Novice Tournament – 2023

The BSI Women’s Novice Tournament was hosted by Gordan Head this year.  The weather was fine and the tournament was very well attended.  The top novices across the South Island clubs were competing in a 2 section 2 day round robin.  The top in each section then competed for 1st and 2nd place and the top 2nd in each section competed for 3rd and 4th place.

Thank you to David Gardner (the tournament convenor), the coaches, the markers and all the kitchen and other volunteers that made the tournament a success.

The Top Three



Trophy Winner

Kaylene Simmons (JDF) with David Gardner

2nd Place

Gillyan Haden (GH)

3rd Place

Melissa Soligo (GH)

GH Anniversary Mixed Triples – 2023

Another successful Gordon Head Tournament with lots of fun, good weather,  great munchies and treats and good weather.  Thanks to David and Gloria and all the wonderful helpers!


Maria Pavan (Lead), Jay Huang (Skip), Josie Tan (Vice)

2nd Place

Jack Adamowicz (Vice), Jen Purkis (Lead),, David Gardner (Skip)

3rd Place

Gale Law (Vice), Angela Tessaro (Lead), Kiyoshi Sekiguchi (Skip)

4th Place

Barry Ming (Skip), Noelle Trueman (Lead), Ron McRea (Vice)

GHLBC – BSI South Island Singles – 2023

Another succesful tournament with 22 participants. Thanks to David Gardner, Gloria, Dennis, the Markers (from GH and other clubs) and all the other wonderful volunteers that are a part of our wonderful lawn bowling club.  Beautiful weather and great bowling was enjoyed by everyone.

Winner “A” Division

Bud Randall (GH) with David Gardner

2nd Place “A”

Harry Walker (CP) with David Gardner

3rd Place “A”

David Gardner (GH)

4th Place “A”

Rob McArthur (JDF) with David Gardner

Winner “B” Division

Keith Terlson (JDF) with David Gardner

2nd Place “B”

Jay Huang (GH) with David Gardner