Category Archives: News

Sidney Shortmat Tournament Winners

Elaine Ratcliffe, June and Svend Klausen managed to be the Champions in the Sidney Short Mat Tournament over the March 19 weekend. We were impressed with Elaine as she only recently started short matting in Sidney on Mondays with us. We had some close games, namely the Semi Final against Lake Hill was a tie and was broken with the Skips bowling one bowl each. On to the Final against Sirish’s team from Lake Hill and we won that game too.

Svend Klausen

Arizona Senior Triples

Gordon Head bowler David Gardner  and Oak Bay Bowler Jeff Machan participated in the Arizona Senior Triples.

“What a fantastic game was played for the Championship.  The team of Jeff Machan, John Duvall, and skip David Gardner gave up a 6 on the first end to the team of Bob Perry, Ron Rollick, and skip Bill DesBrisay.  The teams played on and after 14 ends were  tied.  The 2 teams flipped a coin and Dave Gardner’s team had last bowl.  The front end of DesBrisay’s team rolled their bowls to be 4 up when David Gardner came to the mat with his first bowl, he took the jack to the ditch and lay 4 ft away. Bill then delivered his second bowl which almost stopped but entered the ditch.  David then rolled his second bowl to within 2 ft of the ditch now holding 2.  Bill tried to wick off one of David’s bowls but was unsuccessful.  Thus David Gardner, John Duvall and Jeff Machan were the Champions for this year.

Arizona Senior Triples Winners

New Bowls Pushers

The club has now bought two bowls pushers.  Both Tom Robertson and Dave Richards are club trainers and would be willing and happy to show members how to use them.

So if you are having trouble bending, or suffer from sore knees or back, please give them a try.  They are surprisingly simple to use and could save your joints and the greens will benefit.

If you are interested Please contact Tom at: [email protected]  or Dave Richards at: [email protected].

Clubhouse Renovation

The second phase of the clubhouse renovation, as planned by the decorating committee,has been completed under the able management of our foreman, Dennis Verge.

Many thanks to all who helped with preparing the walls, painting and tidying up. These are (in alphabetic order):

  •  Jack Adamowicz
  • Annie Bodley-Scott
  • George Irvine
  • Sandra McConnell
  • Rhoda Milford
  • Floyd Ruttan
  • David Smith
  • Lin Smith
  • Dennis Verge
  • Ray Vermette
  • Bill Ward

If I missed anybody I apologize.